COMMISSIONER PROCEEDINGS

June 5, 2023

Call to Order: The Lincoln County Board of Commissioners met in the courthouse commission meeting room

> Monday, June 5, 2023. Chairman Dennis Ray called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. with Vice-Chairman Darrell Oetting and Member Debora Smith present. County Clerk Dawn Harlow was

in attendance as recording secretary.

Visitors: Others present for portions of the meeting: Nancy Walter, Leann Bishop, Rhonda Wright, Dale

Hlad, Scott Wright, Jesse Knight, Elizabeth Sheldon, Dan Heina, and Felicia Strahm.

Correspondence: Correspondence: a notice from the City of Lincoln regarding an application for an animal permit

> for goats adjacent to the county-owned property; a letter from Wayne & Abby Gerleman offering to buy the county-owned vacant lot at 618 N 5th St for \$50; and two resolutions to

correct the effective date of pay raises granted in January and February.

Correspondence

Debora Smith moved to accept the offer of \$50 from Wayne and Abby Gerlmann for the vacant Action: lot at 618 N 5th St, seconded by Darrell Oetting. Motion carried. Dennis Ray moved to approve

Resolution 2023-13 (correcting Resolution 2023-06) and Resolution 2023-14 (correcting

Resolution 2023-07), seconded by Debora Smith. Motion carried.

General Fund Budget: Clerk Harlow provided updated budget requests for the general fund and appropriations.

Conservation District: Conservation District Manager Nancy Walter provided information on activities throughout the

past year and presented the 2024 budget request.

County Treasurer: County Treasurer Leann Bishop presented the 2024 budget request.

County Appraiser: County Appraiser Rhonda Wright requested an executive session. Dennis Ray moved to recess

Executive Session: into executive session for five minutes for the purpose of discussing appraiser's office personnel,

pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319(2)(b)(1) to discuss personnel matters of nonelected personnel, to reconvene in the courthouse commission meeting room with the commission, County Appraiser Rhonda Wright, and County Clerk Dawn Harlow, seconded by Debora Smith. Motion carried.

Time in: 9:44 a.m. Time out: 9:49 a.m.

Reconvene: The chairman reconvened the meeting to regular session at 9:49 a.m. with no action taken.

County Appraiser: County Appraiser Wright presented the 2024 budget request.

Highway Department: Director of Highway Department Dale Hlad presented the 2024 budget request for the Road

Fund and Special Bridge Fund. Commissioner Ray forwarded a request to lower Kiowa Dr going

West from K-14.

County Attorney: County Attorney Scott Wright presented the department's 2024 budget request.

Emergency Emergency Manager Jesse Knight presented the 2024 budget request for Emergency Management: Management and Floodplain Administration. Knight related that he has been using the old gas

station West of the courthouse and provided a proposal.

Health Department:

Health Nurse/Administrator Elizabeth Sheldon presented the 2024 budget request. Sheldon discussed one of the COVID grants that will need to be returned if the department cannot spend it; acceptable uses for the grant are infrastructure, expanded testing, and employee bonuses.

Noxious Weed:

Executive Session:

Noxious Weed Director Dan Heina updated the board on department activities. Heina requested a salary increase for Cody Flinn. Dennis Ray moved to recess into executive session for fifteen minutes for the purpose of discussing Noxious Weed FMLA, pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319(2)(b)(1) to discuss personnel matters of nonelected personnel, to reconvene in the courthouse commission meeting room, with the commission, Noxious Weed Director Dan Heina, HR Felica Strahm, and County Clerk Dawn Harlow present, seconded by Debora Smith. Motion carried. Time in: 11:05 a.m. Time out: 11:20 a.m.

Reconvene:

The chairman reconvened the meeting to regular session at 11:20 a.m. with no action taken.

Executive Session:

Dennis Ray moved to recess into executive session for fifteen minutes for the purpose of discussing Noxious Weed FMLA, pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319(2)(b)(1) to discuss personnel matters of nonelected personnel, to reconvene in the courthouse commission meeting room, with the commission Noxious Weed Director Dan Heina, HR Felicia Strahm, and County Clerk Dawn Harlow present, seconded by Debora Smith. Motion carried. Time in: 11:22 a.m. Time out: 11:36 a.m.

Reconvene: Extended Hours Approved: The chairman reconvened the meeting to regular session at 11:36 a.m. Dennis Ray moved to allow Noxious Weed department part-time and full-time employees to work on Saturdays, weather permitting, to spray roads, seconded by Darrell Oetting. Motion carried.

Minutes Approved:

Debora Smith moved to approve the minutes of the May 30 and May 31 commission meetings, seconded by Darrell Oetting. Motion carried.

Adjourn:

The chairman adjourned the meeting at 11:46 a.m. The next meeting will be at 8:30 a.m. Monday, June 12, 2023, in the courthouse commission meeting room.