## COMMISSIONER PROCEEDINGS

January 11, 2021

Call to Order: The regular meeting of the Lincoln County Board of Commissioners was held in the commission

meeting room of the courthouse Monday, January 11, 2021. Chairman Randy Lohmann called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. with Vice-Chairman James Gabelmann and Member Alexis

Pflugh present. County Clerk Dawn Harlow was in attendance as recording secretary.

Visitors: Others present for portions of the meeting: Art Howell, Dennis Ray, Darrell Oetting, Kerry

Jackson, Sarah Hageman, Caleb Holeman, Dustin Florence, Lucas Sanders, Baldwin Fisher,

Rhonda Wright, Tami Kerth, Leann Bishop, Jennifer O'Hare, and Derek Walter.

Minutes Approved: James Gabelmann moved to approve the minutes as written, seconded by Randy Lohmann.

Motion carried.

Wilson Lake Estates: Commissioner Pflugh updated the board on conversations regarding Wilson Lake Estates.

Landfill/Transfer Landfill/Transfer Station Operator Kerry Jackson provided prices for used backhoes. The board

took no action this date.

Recess/Reconvene: The chairman recessed the meeting to the courthouse meeting room at 10:50 a.m. The chairman

reconvened the meeting at 11:02 a.m. in the courtroom.

questions.

Recess/Reconvene: The chairman recessed the meeting for the swearing-in ceremony at 11:41 a.m. The chairman

reconvened the meeting to regular session at 1:00 p.m.

Board Reorganization: Pursuant to the provisions of K.S.A. 19-219, the chairman called for the organization of the board

for the ensuing year with newly elected board member Darrell Oetting and Dennis Ray present. Darrell Oetting moved that Randy Lohmann becomes Chairman of the commission, seconded by Dennis Ray. Motion carried. Darrell Oetting moved for the Vice-Chairman to be Dennis Ray,

seconded by Randy Lohmann. Motion carried.

Commission Meeting

Time Change:

Station:

Meeting:

Randy Lohmann moved to change the hours, to start the commission meetings, beginning at

8:30 a.m. until noon, seconded by Dennis Ray. Motion carried.

Board Appointments: Randy Lohmann moved to appoint James Gabelmann to the North Central Kansas Juvenile

Detention Facility board of directors, seconded by Darrell Oetting. Motion carried. The board agreed to continue the following board appointments Kelly Gourley to the North Central Regional Planning Commission and Jennifer O'Hare to the 12<sup>th</sup> Judicial District Community Corrections board. Commission Lohman will continue to serve as the hospital board representative with Commissioner Ray attending on occasion. Randy Lohmann moved to

appoint Dennis Ray as the representative to the Economic Development Foundation board

meeting, seconded by Darrell Oetting. Motion carried.

Law Enforcement: Sheriff Dustin Florence reported that he has hired Luke Sanders as Undersheriff, noting that in

the future he might add sergeant positions to the staffing tiers for the department. Board members mentioned the need to upgrade the building and ensure that officers are covering all

areas of the county, including rural areas.

Bank Authorization: Dennis Ray moved to allow the chairman to sign the bank authorization form, seconded by

Randy Lohmann. Motion carried. Dennis Ray moved to approve the longevity payroll as printed,

seconded by Randy Lohmann. Motion carried.

Nursing Home Lease: The board discussed the nursing home lease agreement.

Highway Department: Interim Director of Highway Department Caleb Holeman inquired about when employees would

be given the COVID-19 vaccinations. Holeman related that an employee will be due for his sixmonth evaluation. Holeman provided an update on the following: spot graveling, gravel pit

locations, and status of equipment involved in an accident on December 15.

Executive Session: Randy Lohmann moved to recess into executive session for five minutes for the purpose of

discussing nonelected personnel disciplinary status change, pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319(2)(b)(1) to discuss personnel matters of nonelected personnel, to reconvene in the courthouse commission room, with the commission, Highway Department Interim Director Holman, and HR Director (Sarah Hageman), seconded by Darrell Oetting. Motion carried. Time in: 2:30 p.m. Time

out: 2:35 p.m.

Longevity Approved:

Reconvene: The chairman reconvened the meeting to regular session at 2:35 p.m. with no action taken.

Executive Session: Randy Lohmann moved to recess into executive session for fifteen minutes for purpose of

discussing personnel matters pertaining to job applications, pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319(2)(b)(1) to discuss personnel matters of nonelected personnel, to reconvene in the courthouse commissioners' room, with the commission and HR Director (Hageman), seconded by Darrell

Oetting. Motion carried. Time in: 2:40 p.m. Time out: 2:55 p.m.

Reconvene: The chairman reconvened the meeting to regular session at 2:55 p.m. with no action taken.

Adjourn: Dennis Ray moved to adjourn at 2:56 p.m., seconded by Randy Lohmann. Motion carried. The

meeting was adjourned until 8:30 a.m. Tuesday, January 19, 2021, in the commission meeting

room of the courthouse.