## **COMMISSIONER PROCEEDINGS**

February 13, 2023

Call to Order: The Lincoln County Board of Commissioners met in the courthouse commission meeting room

Monday, February 13, 2023. Chairman Dennis Ray called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. with Vice-Chairman Darrell Oetting and Member Debora Smith present. County Clerk Dawn Harlow

was in attendance as recording secretary.

Visitors: Others present for portions of the meeting: Norman Mannel, Sarah Hageman, and Julia Mathias

Manglitz.

Correspondence: Correspondence: resignation from Jim Metz as the county's representative to the Recreation

Commission; bills for Lincoln Park Manor; a letter from Mike Street expressing an interest in

continuing to serve on the First Rural Fire District governing board; and a tax abatement.

Inquiry: Norman Mannel asked where the bookends are that used to be on display in the courthouse

display case. Mannel requested that a commissioner attend the Historical Society meeting to

inquire about their location.

Tax Abatement/ AP Approved:

Debora Smith moved to approve tax abatement 2022-14 in the amount of \$2,200.84, seconded by Darrell Oetting. Motion carried. Debora Smith moved to approve mid-month accounts

payable in the amount of \$13,913.16, seconded by Darrell Oetting. Motion carried.

Followup: Commission follow-up items: Darrell Oetting moved to allow the chairman to sign the FSA

documents, seconded by Debora Smith. Motion carried. Clerk Harlow related that Robert Loveless had inquired about removing the container of white goods already loaded and ready for pickup before the notification of terminating the agreement with him. The board approved allowing Loveless to remove the container. Dennis Ray moved to approve checks (distribution of services for the aged funding) for \$15,000 to Lincoln Senior Center, \$15,000 to Sylvan Grove Senior Center, and \$30,000 to the Council on Aging to be paid at the end of the month, seconded

by Debora Smith. Motion carried.

Executive Session: Dennis Ray moved to recess into executive session for forty-five minutes for the purpose of

discussing HR candidates, pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319(2)(b)(1) to discuss personnel matters of nonelected personnel, to reconvene in the courthouse commission meeting room with the commission, HR Sarah Hageman, County Clerk Dawn Harlow, and Candidate #1, seconded by

Debora Smith. Motion carried. Time in: 9:00 a.m. Time out: 9:45 a.m.

Reconvene: The chairman reconvened the meeting to regular session at 9:45 a.m. with no action taken.

Courthouse Julia Mathias Manglitz, TreanorHL, discussed the schematic design outline drawings and Rennovation: specifications for the Lincoln County Courthouse Condition Assessment. Manglitz provided an

specifications for the Lincoln County Courthouse Condition Assessment. Manglitz provided an updated estimate of costs for project phases previously identified and modifications previously discussed to the East side. Manglitz related that the board could select a main project and have all other items listed as alternate bid items. Allowing the commissioners to pick items as funding

allows and will give them a more realistic cost estimate with current economic conditions.

Executive Session: Dennis Ray moved to recess into executive session for forty-five minutes for the purpose of

discussing the Health Department applicant, pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319(2)(b)(1) to discuss

personnel matters of nonelected personnel, to reconvene in the courthouse commission meeting room with the commission, HR Sarah Hageman, County Clerk Dawn Harlow, and Candidate #1, seconded by Debora Smith. Motion carried. Time in: 11:31 a.m. Time out: 12:16 p.m.

Reconvene: The chairman reconvened the meeting to regular session at 12:16 p.m. with no action taken.

Executive Session: Dennis Ray moved to recess into executive session for forty-five minutes for the purpose of an

HR interview, pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319(2)(b)(1) to discuss personnel matters of nonelected personnel, to reconvene in the courthouse commission meeting room with the commission, HR Sarah Hageman, County Clerk Dawn Harlow, and candidate #2, seconded by Debora Smith.

Motion carried. Time in: 12:21 p.m. Time out: 1:06 p.m.

Reconvene: The chairman reconvened the meeting to regular session at 1:06 p.m. with no action taken.

Minutes Approved: Dennis Ray moved to approve the February 6, 2023, minutes as presented, seconded by Darrell

Oetting. Motion carried.

Resolution 2022-07 Hageman presented the pay resolution increasing all county employee's wages as approved at

the February 6, 2023, meeting. Dennis Ray moved to approve Resolution 2023-07, seconded by

Debora Smith. Motion carried.

Adjourn: The chairman adjourned the meeting at 1:17 p.m. The next meeting will be at 8:30 a.m. Tuesday,

February 21, 2023, in the courthouse commission meeting room.