COMMISSIONER PROCEEDINGS

- May 3, 2021 Call to Order: The Lincoln County Board of Commissioners met in the courthouse commission meeting room Monday, May 3, 2021. Chairman Randy Lohmann called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. with Vice-Chairman Dennis Ray and Member Darrell Oetting present. County Clerk Dawn Harlow was in attendance as recording secretary.
- Visitors: Others present for portions of the meeting: Sarah Hageman, Caleb Holeman, Nora Rhoades, and Shannon Rogers.
- Correspondence: Correspondence: a resolution from Jim and Eileen Markley expressing opposition to the 49-County Heritage Area; a letter from County Attorney Jennifer O'Hare regarding the request to pass a resolution declaring Lincoln County as a 2nd Amendment Sanctuary County; and an email from Denah Jensen expressing opposition to the Kansas Nebraska Heritage Area.
- Action: The board requested that County Attorney O'Hare prepare a resolution to declare Lincoln County as a 2nd Amendment Sanctuary County. Darrell Oetting moved to have our County Attorney write up a resolution to opt-out of the NHA program, seconded by Dennis Ray. Motion carried. Dennis Ray moved to appoint Kady Fisher to the Madison Township Treasurers position, seconded by Darrell Oetting. Motion carried. Clerk Harlow notified the board that there was a potential open meeting violation when two members attended the April hospital board meeting. Dennis Ray moved to approve the April 26, 2021 meeting minutes and the April 30, 2021 minutes as written, seconded by Darrell Oetting. Motion carried.
- Executive Session: Dennis Ray moved to recess into executive session for forty-five minutes for the purpose of discussing an interview for the highway department director position, pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319(2)(b)(1) to discuss personnel matters of nonelected personnel, to reconvene in the commission meeting room, with the commission, HR (Sarah Hageman), and Candidate 1, seconded by Randy Lohmann. Motion carried. Time in: 8:56 a.m. Time out: 9:41 a.m.
- Reconvene: The chairman reconvened the meeting to regular session at 9:41 a.m. with no action taken.
- Executive Session: Dennis Ray moved to recess into executive session for five minutes for the purpose of discussing highway Department interview evaluation, pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319(2)(b)(1) to discuss personnel matters of nonelected personnel, to reconvene in the commission meeting room, with the commission and HR (Hageman), seconded by Randy Lohmann. Motion carried. Time in: 9:44 a.m. Time out: 9:49 a.m.
- Reconvene: The chairman reconvened the meeting to regular session at 9:49 a.m. Dennis Ray moved to instruct HR to start the negotiating process with Highway Department Director Candidate 1, seconded by Darrell Oetting. Motion carried.
- Executive Session: Dennis Ray moved to recess into executive session for forty-five minutes for the purpose of discussing EMS Director application follow-up interview, per K.S.A. 75-4319(2)(b)(1) to discuss personnel matters of nonelected personnel, with the commission, HR (Hageman), and Candidate #1, to reconvene in the commission board meeting room, seconded by Randy Lohmann. Motion carried. Time in: 9:55 a.m. Time out: 10:40 a.m.

Reconvene: The chairman reconvened the meeting to regular session at 10:40 a.m. with no action taken.

Recess/Reconvene: The chairman recessed the meeting for ten minutes at 10:41 a.m. – 10:51 a.m. The chairman reconvened the meeting to regular session at 10:51 a.m.

Highway Department: Dennis Ray requested that the highway department move the van line trailer, little trailer, and suburban from the recycling center to the north lot. Interim Director of Highway Department Caleb Holeman provided the amendment to the gravel agreements for the board's approval. Randy Lohmann moved to approve the modified lease that our interim highway department director has created for selling gravel, seconded by Darrell Oetting. Motion carried. Holeman provided an update on activities, projects, and equipment. Commissioner Ray requested that the department forwards to the noxious weed department the list of areas that grader operators have identified as needing to be sprayed.

Extension District: Nora Rhoades, Post Rock Extension District Director, provided information on the organization, services provided, and staffing structure.

Adjourn:The chairman adjourned the meeting at 11:23 a.m. The next meeting will be Tuesday, May 4,
2021, at 10:00 a.m. in the courthouse commission meeting room.