COMMISSIONER PROCEEDINGS

March 9, 2015

Call to Order: The regular meeting of the Lincoln County Board of Commissioners was held in the

commission meeting room of the courthouse Monday, March 9, 2015. Chairman Gerald Huehl called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. with Vice-Chairman Al Joe Wallace and

Member Terry Finch present. County Clerk Dawn Harlow was in attendance.

Visitors: Others present for portions of the meeting: Wendy Gronau, Tim Meier, Robert Howe,

Michel O'Hare, Ryan Standley, Donna Kirkendall and Ladonna Reinert.

Ambulance Service: Ambulance Service Director Wendy Gronau requested approval to apply for a Post

Rock Community Foundation Grant for three scoop stretchers. The board approved the

request.

Inquiry: Tim Meier questioned why some individuals were being paid by both the fire

department and the rescue squad when responding to the same call. The board related that it should not occur and that responders should only be submitting their time for the department that they actually responded with. Meier inquired about whether fire members could serve on the governing board. The board related that they are okay with

this occurring.

Highway Department: Ryan Standley, Foley Tractor, explained and answered questions about Foley's service

agreement options for the newly purchased Dozer. Highway Department Office Manager Donna Kirkendall with Director of Public Works Michel O'Hare and Road & Bridge Foreman Robert Howe, provided cost estimates and details by company for installation of GPS Systems in highway department equipment. Kirkendall provided proposed changes to job descriptions. O'Hare presented John Cashatt's opinion in regards to the bridges that the State mandated to be replaced or closed after their Fracture Critical Bridge Inspection. After reviewing Cashatt's opinion, the board approved the following bridges to be closed, due to the lack of available funds to adequately repair or replace the structures: OS-66, located in the 1000 block of N 20th Rd, Pleasant Township; OS-73, located in the 1000 block of N 50th Rd, Pleasant Township; OS-82, located in the 1400 block of N 130th Rd, Marion Township; and OS-91, located in the 1500 block of E Milo Dr, Marion Township. The board requested that highway officials gather more information on the following bridges, to determine if the county can make repairs to prevent closure and whether there are sufficient funds available to make the repairs: OS-12, located in the 600 block of E Teal Dr, Cedron Township; and OS-87, located in the 1300 block of N 140th Rd, Marion Township.

Howe discussed highway department projects.

Health Department: Health Nurse/Administrator Ladonna Reinert presented a combined grant application

for the board's approval. Al Joe Wallace moved to approve the chairman signing the grant application for the following grant funds: State Formula, Family Planning, and Maternal & Child Health, seconded by Terry Finch. Motion carried. Reinert discussed

health department activities.

Job Reclassification: After reviewing job responsibilities, Al Joe Wallace moved to reclassify the Highway

Department's Office Manager position from an hourly wage to a monthly salary and to set the monthly salary for Donna Kirkendall at \$2,427 per month effective February 26,

2015, seconded by Terry Finch. Motion carried.

Minutes Approved: Terry Finch moved to approve and adopt the minutes of the March 2, 2015 regular

meeting as presented, seconded by Al Joe Wallace. Motion carried.

Board Appointments: Al Joe Wallace moved to approve the following board appointments: commencing March 1, 2015: Jim Harlow, Barnard Rural Fire District Governing Board Member, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; Greg Morrical, Beverly Rural Fire District Governing Board Member, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; Jay Core, First Rural Fire District, expiring February 28, 2018; Doug Sulsar, Hunter Rural Fire District Governing Board Member, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; Brock Mueller, Sylvan Grove Rural Fire District, expiring February 28, 2018; Randy Rathbun, Repeater Board, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; Jay Core, Repeater Board, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; Aliesa Woods, Crime Victims Restitution Board, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; Kathy Lupher-Nielsen, Preservation Board, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; Harold Andreson, Preservation Board, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; Terry Lilak, Preservation Board, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; Megan Huehl, Delia Pittard Inheritance Guideline Committee, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; Megan Huehl, Childrens Healthcare Endowment Committee, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; Allan Serrien, Hospital Board of Trustees, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; Kay Jackson, Lincoln County Transportation Bus Board, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; Paul Kuchera, three year term expiring February 28, 2018; and Tammy Rees, Windpower Economic Benefit Fund Committee, three year term expiring February 28, 2018, seconded by Terry Finch. Motion carried.

Adjourn:

With no further business to come before the board the chairman adjourned the meeting at 1:50 p.m. until 10:00 a.m. Monday, March 16, 2015 in the commission meeting room of the courthouse.